top of page

Thanks-Giving

As the Thanksgiving season approaches us, the theme of gratefulness is embodied everywhere. I like to take time everyday to remember what I am grateful for, but in keeping with the theme it is always nice to express it again.

Naturally I am grateful for my family, who have always supported me in my career and didn't ironically laugh in my face when I spoke the words, "I think I want to be a comedian". I am grateful for my best friends who have stuck by me through every event in my life since elementary and high school, including my awkward stage (which is saying a lot). I am grateful for my new friends who have come into my life, supported me on stage and off, and whom I know will continue to be in my life in one way or another.

But in addition to these, I am grateful for the opportunities I have had. For the opportunities I was given and for the opportunities I fought for. I am grateful for the challenges in my life that have made me into the person I am today. And I am grateful and proud of the person I have become.

With that being said I am most grateful for having a voice. For being able to have a consumer platform for expression without any hindrance. Without the fear of speaking my opinions and the truth in my heart. I can express myself whether in person, on stage or through the written word without any backlash. Sadly, that is not a reality for most people in our society in this day and age of the year 2014; it is surreal to think about. And it's moments like these, as I sit here writing for this blog which expresses such beauty in our society for which I am very grateful.

We need to start living our lives in tandem with one another, not against each other. We need to remember the human race is unique because of our compassion, not our destruction. And most importantly, we need to start living our lives, not existing in them.

As the now famous quote says; "If not you, who? If not now, when?" - Emma Watson 2014

It may be cheesy, but we need to love each other and never forget what you are grateful for while you still have it.

Forever more,

Brianna

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page