top of page

The 6 Stages of a College Strike


As we all know all colleges have been on strike for the last 29 days. As most difficult situations, I have realized that I've gone through different stages throughout this process. Now, don't get me wrong, I respect the teachers right to strike and what they are fighting for is completely valid- that being said, it doesn't make the situation any more fun. Therefore, here are some thoughts I've had during this ordeal as I progress through the stages:

Disbelief:

The strike won't happen. The threat of strike itself is always enough to cause enough fear to reach an agreement...right? Yeah....it won't actually happen.

Excitement:

Wait...you mean we could have a 2 week Reading Week. This strike isn't so bad...I forgot what it felt like to have no heart palpitations!

Complacency:

Alright, I've already taken 16 extra hours at work this week...I'm getting bored.

Acceptance:

Well, I guess this is what life is now. I will be working retail the rest of my life. That's not so bad right...right? *checks Twitter*

Worry:

Okay, we're entering our fourth week now...what's going to happen to the rest of the semester? How can I take more hours at work when everything is unknown? What about deadlines? What about the Christmas break? You mean to tell me we'll lose our winter break?! Future me is already stressed out!

Dread:

Five weeks in; I can only think about how many deadlines we'll have all at once. I'll either fail the semester or get a horrible GPA in order to get all the assignments submitted in time...maybe the strike can go a little longer...

Currently, I'm still in the last stage. I'm dreading getting the email that the strike is over. I took a leap of faith and courage returning to school after 5 years and this has really soured my experience so far. I've lost all my motivation and passion. I'm dreading how I'll manage to pass this semester, and if I do manage to pass, it won't be with the caliber of grades that I'm used to getting or that I strive to get. Everyone in this situation is dealing with something that isn't fair, but I know I am not the only one to feel that the student’s voice has fallen quiet among the rest.

Hopefully, a resolution will be reached that all parties feel satisfied with; including the students. In the words of a preschooler, "can't we all get along?"


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page