top of page

My Degree is in Life

As soon as you step foot in High School you are bombarded with deciding what you are going to do with the rest of your life. Teachers gave you three options to choose from.

  • Go to University

  • Go to University

  • Go to University

The “College” word was spoken under breath and was only provided as a backup option. As for a ‘no school’ avenue, well that wasn’t even an option. I have always been the kind of person that never had a strong passion or ability. I was good at many things in High School, but I never outrageously succeeded in any of them. I loved biology and wanted to be a doctor- more like I enjoyed the thought of me a doctor but the fact that I get woozy with stitches put a wrench in that plan. I succeeded at playing the clarinet but my double-jointed fingers stopped me from being able to play professionally. I loved being on stage and performing but I never won the high school award (aka a piece of paper printed off Word Processor) for being Best Actress.

I felt like I couldn’t begin to drop thousands of dollars just to ‘try something out’. But I grew up in a generation that I would like call the University generation. About 98% of my graduating class moved on to University and about 70% of that chose courses just to be able to say they went to University. I couldn’t justify that, instead I decided to look into acting for a year and took a course a Sheridan. This theatre course would soon turn out to be one of the best years of my life and subsequently spring board me into another two best years of my life at The Second City. I still remember the response from one of my friends when I told him I was going to Sheridan College instead of University, “Sheridan? I thought you were smart?” This was a genuine question from him and I just couldn’t believe it. I spent many years thinking that I was “less than” because I didn’t do what everyone else was doing and go to a University.

Now here I am, a 3-year graduate of Sheridan and I am still working on completing my degree in Life. This day in age where you need a piece of paper to prove your worth is slowing moving behind us-I would like to believe. I am an intelligent person and you can teach me anything. I have learned more in three years out in the real world than I would have sitting behind a desk for 4 years pigeonholed to one subject. I have gained so much life experience and have learned so much that I am so grateful for the path I am on. In the eyes of society, I am “under educated” and for that I am so grateful. You can come out of University with a piece of paper, but if you don’t have experience than you still won’t get a job. If you look at my resume it is a cluster of unique jobs, but because of that I now have experience in: personal support work in healthcare, stage managing, retail buying, running a small business and now marketing and sales.

Now don’t get me wrong, I think there are many great Universities out there for many incredible programs taught by amazing Professors. And obviously there are professions that require further schooling. If you’re a surgeon, by all means, please get that further education. A pilot? Maybe don’t teach yourself how to fly. Additionally, for those who went to University for something that they loved, then I congratulate that, you are a rare and beautiful occurrence. Even more so, my two best friends are the hardest working University students I have ever known, and I know they will succeed in ‘real life’. I think University is a great avenue; for those that it works for. This was just not me, and I knew this from the start.

I have always said, character goes a long way and for that I can thank my life experience for which it has personally shaped me into a better person. But for all of those who judged someone who didn’t go down the societally expected route, I would encourage you to rethink that. Because while you were upside down on a kegger “learning”, they were out hitting the ground learning how the industry works from the inside. Like Richard Branson quoted, “A person who has multiple degrees in your field isn’t always better than someone who has broad experience and a great personality”.

Find your unique path and pursue it, I promise, it won’t disappoint you. You are not a failure.

Brianna

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page