top of page

This Post is Alright, I Guess

I've had enough with 'passive aggressive new- age unable to express adult emotions' bull crap.

Now I'll be the first to say that I have been guilty of this in the past but I know it's because of my ability to feel vulnerable and deep show emotions-or lack there of, so what's everyone else's? I do have a theory that showing raw emotions isn't "cool". Apparently we all want it to seem that we are James Bond who swim with sharks with lasers on their head on the daily and this is just another romp in our exotic lives- but I can assure you that isn't the case. Everyone is eating chips, in their onesie, in bed like the everyone else- metaphorically or otherwise* (this is a judgement free zone).

If you haven't figured out what I'm talking about is this seemingly epidemic on social media of when an individual is clearly with a significant other in which they truly love or like and they comment "he/she is alright". Or if it's clearly a picture of something brag worthy and amazing, and they caption it saying "this is alright I guess". BULLSHIT. This is the exact problem with our generation, no one takes things seriously. Maybe relationships are like a revolving door these days because no one can actually say to their significant other, "I think you're really amazing" and so on and so forth.

Every relationship, every amazing moment and location is desensitized now. It's the norm to be blase about something that should make you want to shout it off the rooftops with elation- but no. Our generation is molded into thinking that it's the norm to be in a mediocre relationship, so why would one project anything more than that, wrong. First off, you shouldn't be in anything less than wanting to shout it off the rooftops. Second, social media is a bragging ground, everyone knows it so get over it. If it something worthy enough to post- be damn excited about it! Tell us why this picture meant so much to you that you needed to share with others; I can guarantee that moment with your boyfriend in that blue mountain resort with roses and candlelight was more than "alright I guess".

So stop being coy and blase. Embrace the amazingness of a moment and share it! If the people you are sharing it with are the people you should have around you, they'll be equally as appreciative of that moment.

So shout from the rooftops already!

Brianna


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page